An agent and a contract!

Welcome to my new lair! I’m hoping that the attractive layout might encourage me to blog a bit more often. My LiveJournal was all full of cobwebs, and I do want to maintain a platform where I can reach people who prefer to steer clear of Facebook. Thanks to everyone who’s followed me here from LJ, and of course a big hello to my FB and Twitter connections.

I’m starting off this blog with some great news. Those of you who read my FB posts may have noticed that I haven’t been talking much about my writing or my plans for the year ahead. (Although I’m aware I’m so hopelessly low-key when it comes to promo that maybe you didn’t notice any difference at all! 😀 ) Thank you for your patience. You must admit you’ve had lots of pictures of my cats and the cool views from my house.

The truth is that I’ve really had my head down, trying to put together a synopsis for a longer novel. And it hasn’t been easy. In fact I’ve started and scrapped three outlines, which has never happened to me before. Pretty scary. Burnout? Sudden inexplicable failure of imagination and talent? I don’t know. I think I maybe broke my brain a bit producing a Halloween and a Christmas novella one after the other in the space of a couple of months. So I am all the more delighted now that, finally, the ideas that I’ve been brewing up came together, and I was able to complete and submit a proposal to Samhain Publishing, which has been – deep breath – accepted. I’m so pleased. I love working with Samhain, and this will be my fifth novel under their auspices.

I can’t say too much about the book just yet, but the working title is Cold Fusion and we’re looking at a release date of December this year or January 2015.

My second amazing piece of news is this – I have an agent! I’m very proud to announce that I’ve been signed by The Knight Agency. I’m really looking forward to working with TKA to develop my career as an author. As I’m sure most of you are already aware, promo is not one of my gifts. I’m hoping that TKA will help me widen my marketing reach and turn me into a powerhouse octopus of publishing instead of the slightly dazzled woodlouse I mostly resemble just now. Seriously, it’s a great opportunity. TKA is a prestigious agency with a great track record and some fantastic authors on its books.

For those of you who don’t fancy the idea of waiting until the end of the year for another Foxy offering, have no fear. I have plenty of plans for the interim, and I’ll be back here with news about all my new projects and schemes very soon.

30 thoughts on “An agent and a contract!

  1. A huge hug and high five to you Ms. Harper!!! This is truly exciting news. You know what this means now don’t you? We expect grand things from you and that wonderful imagination of yours. Yeah I know, no pressure. I hope you have many loving characters to add to your already gorgeous group. Good luck and happy writing.

    Like

  2. Oh, Harper, that’s wonderful news!! Especially the new novel part (from my very selfish reader perspective, of course), but I’m thrilled that you will be getting the recognition you so richly deserve!! Good for you!!

    Like

  3. Hi! I’m moth2fic on LJ and you already know I love your work. I’m looking forward to seeing you here too! WordPress is my ‘writing blog’ and this is my pen name. (Check it out if you ever have time on your hands…)

    I loved your Halloween and Christmas offerings but a new full length novel sounds wonderful!!

    Like

    1. Oh, hello there, my friend! Lovely to see you here and to know that we’ll still be in contact. Yes, it’s really nice to be stretching out into the pace of a longer book, although I did love writing Out and Wolf Hall. xxx

      Like

  4. Wonderful news! Congratulations, and I hope the the relief you must feel will also result in your feeling less pressured so that your creativity returns full force.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Helena. Yes, I think maybe it had been such a long time since I’d had a longer novel released that I was starting to put myself under too much pressure to produce one, and falling frantically into writing novellae to plug the financial gap. This is a massive boost – I can breathe again, and I’m really enjoying drafting out Cold Fusion.

      Like

  5. Ah sis I’m so pleased for you. You deserve all the promotion. You are an amazing author and the bestest sister too. Much much love xxx

    Like

    1. Oh hiya darlin’! Lovely to see you here in the WordPress World. I wouldn’t have got half as far as I have with all this – would probably have packed in years ago, to tell you the truth – without your support. Love you so much xxx

      Like

  6. That’s great news all around!

    One question: will you link this new location to Goodreads? That’s usually where I check for updates (where I learned about this, in fact), so I hope so.

    Like

  7. Congratulations to you on the book contract and agent! Sounds like you’re in a great place for the new year. Wishing you all the best, and can’t wait to read more of your beautiful words 🙂

    Like

  8. In the midst of my first ever blog tour prep…I have only just seen your news. Wow…a new long novel 🙂 A new blog 🙂 An proper literary agent…will you still talk to us now you’re all posh and literary? Congratulations you deserve all the success going.

    Like

Leave a Reply

